So yesterday, Villa did that thing where you kick the ball into the back of the other team’s net. It’s been so long since that happened that I forget what it’s called . . . “scoring a goal”? Is that the correct terminology?

Not only that, they did it twice! If they keep this up, I won’t even have to write the words on the back of my hand to remember them.

“Scoring a goal”? Is that the correct terminology?

After the 0-2 loss to Liverpool, I was too depressed to write anything—I had completely run out of new ways to look at losing and failing to score. I do feel better after yesterday’s result. Pending the results of the fifth-round draw, in which it’s entirely possible Villa could come up against another side from a lower division, progression in the FA Cup could provide an antidote to regression in the Premier League—as long as we don’t go all the way down and get relegated.

Wouldn’t that be an irony? An unlikely Cup run followed by a drop down to the Championship? I don’t even want to think about it.

There are a few reasons for hope: Carles Gil looks like a real player (and what a goal he scored!), Delph has signed, and a two-goal game against top Championship side could help the team find some much-needed rhythm.

If only the next game wasn’t away to Arsenal, and the next one after that, home to Chelsea.

The thing of it is, I still haven’t seen Villa score in live time since Benteke’s goal in the 1-1 against Manchester United on December 20! Due to scheduling issues (mine) and broadcasting issues (others’) I haven’t watched any of the Cup games live. And the last win I watched in real time was the 2-1 against Leicester City on December 7.

The sheer goallessness during that period has made it impossible for me to even enjoy Match of the Day. Watching other teams score with abandon while waiting for Villa’s pathetic recap at the end of the show, knowing your team’s 90 minutes haven’t produced a single worthwhile highlight . . . well, it makes it hard to appreciate even the most stunning goal by anybody else.

The win was nice but I would happily trade it for three points in the league. And the embers of hope have yet to truly rekindle in my chest. For that to happen, we’re going to have to start scoring goals in the Premier League and moving up the table.

