Dan Peever, first time at Villa Park, April 2011
Dan Peever, first time at Villa Park, April 2011

Dan Peever—Peever, or even just Peeves, depending on your level of familiarity or misapprehension—is another guy I first encountered during the fabled North American Villans meetup last August in Chicago. While he may be best known for making the most shocking tackle ever inflicted on a pub waitress on an amateur field of play, you should know him for more than that. A big guy with a big heart, an even larger capacity for beer, and a dedication to Villa that has him traveling again and again to the field of, er, screams—Villa Park.

The Starting Eleven

Where were you born, where do you live now, and what do you do for a living?

I was born in the middle of the Northern Ontario bush, in Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada. I am living there now but only just moved back last summer, after five years of bouncing around. I am Food Operations Manager (which is a fancy way of saying food manager) at a steakhouse called The Keg.

How and when did you choose Villa?

On the bus to Fire-Villa friendly at Toyota Park, July 2012
On the bus to Fire-Villa friendly at Toyota Park, July 2012

Like a lot of people in North America I got into the football after the 2006 World Cup. I was playing FIFA with a friend of mine and always found myself playing with Aston Villa as I didn’t want any of the “big teams.” So, at the start of 2007-08 season I wanted to pick a team, and I knew the players of Villa from FIFA, so I went with AVFC. (I nearly went with the Geordies . . . thankfully, I didn’t!)

What was your happiest moment as a Villa supporter?

At the Fire-Villa friendly at Toyota Park, July 2012
At the Fire-Villa friendly at Toyota Park, July 2012

For me, it was our 3-1 win away at Stoke last season. The reason for that is it was the first VIlla win I’d seen while in England—and I was on my third trip across the pond! When Matty Lowton took that ball off his chest and booted it, I was annoyed, as we thought it was going over. We had our hands up, as we were ten rows behind the net . . . and then, at the last second, it dipped down into the top corner and we went mental. Bliss!

What was your most painful moment?

Manchester United away in the 2011-12 season. We got beat 4-0 and we were woeful, absolute rubbish. After that match, I had genuine fear inside that we’d be going down. Walking away from Old Trafford and hearing the roar from the Cockneys when Nani put the fourth in was sickening. I couldn’t get away fast enough . . . .

Which team would you most like to see Villa beat this year?

Man United. We have been getting kicked around by them for some time. And, given the suicidal tendencies of Man United fans, I can only imagine the huge queues at ASDA for rope after we beat them!

Who is your favorite player on the current squad?

Gabby for me. Claret and Blue in his veins . . . he loves the club.

John Carew: Certainly Bigger Than Most of Us

Who is your favorite player of all time?

John Carew, Carew, he’s bigger than me and you! He was one heck of a player up front for us. Not the most gifted of footballers, but he scored goals for us.

What are your favorite sources for Villa news?

I get a lot of info from avillafan.com (a forum I help moderate) and Facebook. I’ve also got the Villa app on my phone so I can keep updated all the time.

With legends Gordon Cowans and Gary Shaw outside the Addies Pub in Birmingham, April 2012
With legends Gordon Cowans and Gary Shaw outside the Addies Pub in Birmingham, April 2012

Rate yourself as a fan. What are your best and worst qualities?

Well, my best quality would have to be heading across the pond year after year to watch the club. My worst? I’ll be ignorant and say I don’t have any 😉

Where do you usually watch games?

In the comfort of my house, either on telly or laptop. Football hasn’t really taken off here in Thunder Bay, so there’s no bar to head to and meet other fans. At least not that I’m aware of as yet!

What are you usually drinking?

Most of the time, just coffee, as I work most days there are matches. But when I get a day off, various cans of imports will be consumed! Tatra, Estrella, Staropramen, Kozel, Grolsch, Guinness, etc. etc.

Extra Time

How many beers would you be willing to drink to ensure that Villa beat Man United this Sunday?

I would drink whatever is put in front of me to see us beat them. But if I had to set a bar I’d say 30.

Follow-up: how many days would you be willing to go without beer in order to ensure a victory?

Six hours.

A balmy day out, December 2011
A balmy day out, December 2011
